這個暑假,Dr. Sparks小小科學家俱樂部要帶孩子穿越時空回到過去一天。我們要一起探索古代戰爭背後的科學,以及弩弓和投石器等武器的進化演變。我們計畫把這個全日全英語的夏令營帶到台灣各主要城市舉行。如果有15位孩子要在您指定場地包班也是可能可以安排的。在這一整天中,孩子們會用英文來建造機器,收集資料,測試理論,操作實驗,並且玩得開心!

  Dr. Sparks科學夏令營 – 古代戰爭中,我們要一起來看一些可以摧毀城堡的武器以及它們背後的科學。我們要探索古代人如何用馬毛來製造可以把樹變成的飛彈的武器。我們也要試驗看看古代人如何計算彈射軌道來把巨大石頭射過城牆。他們當時還沒電腦或智慧型手機可以使用呢!在這單日營中,每個孩子會有一整天的時間使用英語,並完成2個可以帶回家的有趣實驗。孩子們不是來這個夏令營學習英文的;這會是實驗不斷的一天,我們希望這些有趣的實驗會鼓勵孩子們開始使用英文,用英文思考。我們要透過精采的實驗來啟發孩子們的好奇心,進而啟動他們的「英文腦」。

  Dr. Sparks要帶孩子們一起來實驗,利用科學原理製造出可以擊垮城堡牆的古代武器。弩弓是利用張力與彈力把武器直直地射到很遠的地方去的一種武器。投石機則是利用類似的原理,但設計稍微不同,所以可以把更大的物件用更高的軌道射出。

  我們會在安全的環境下,用英語學習在這些戰爭武器背後的科學原理。Dr.Sparks知道不是所有的人都可以完全聽得懂全部的內容。沒問題!孩子們耳朵聽不懂的,可以透過「眼睛」與「手」來了解。我們透過大量手作的實驗來激發孩子們的好奇心。當孩子們對我們做的實驗產生興趣與好奇心時,他們會用心來認真學習。

  我們想要創造一個環境來讓孩子們可以在操作有趣的實驗時同時,使用他們的「英文腦」。我們認為大部分的孩子英文課已經上的夠多了。他們真正需要的是一個有趣、少壓力、沒有作業與考試的環境。為何不把英語從「一堂課」變成「一個經驗」呢?Dr. Sparks小小科學家俱樂部 –是英語,是科學,更是樂趣!

弩弓/弩車(扭力弩砲)

DIY弩弓帶回家

探索弩車如何扭轉馬毛產生足夠的張力來做射擊

組合與發射1/4大小的弩車

投石機

DIY投石機帶回家

拋投高爾夫 – 控制石頭彈飛的軌道讓它落在目標上

組裝與發射大台投石機

戰爭

用積木建造城堡牆並保護國王

用弩車(弩炮)與投石機來摧毀敵人的牆,抓走他們的國王。

科學原理

利用張力來推動一個物件

比較張力與彈力

改變角度來改變彈射軌道

改變拋射物的重量來改變彈射軌道

© 2014 by Sparkle and Shine. 

  • w-facebook
  • YouTube Clean

This summer, Dr. Sparks Jr. Scientist Club will take your kids on a full day journey back in time. We will explore the science behind ancient warfare and the evolution of weapons like crossbows and catapults. This full day, whole-English summer camp is available in communities around Taiwan. We also have the option to have our teachers come right to your community and perform the camp for your group of 15 kids in your building. Spend the day using English to build machines, collect data, test theories, conduct experiments, and have a whole lot of fun!

  In Dr. Sparks Science Camp – Ancient Warfare, we will look at the science behind some of the weapons that were able to take down great castles. We will explore how they used horsehair to create a weapon that could turn a tree into a missile. We will experiment with how they calculated trajectory to launch huge stones over city walls. And they did all of this without computers or even smartphones! Each child will spend the day using English while they make 2 amazing experiments that they can take home. This camp is not a day of learning English. Instead, it’s a day filled with fun experiments that encourage your kids to start using English and thinking in English. It’s through the curiosity that our experiments encourage that we help turn on your child’s English thinking.

 

  The boys and girls will do experiments with Dr. Sparks learning how science created ancient weapons that could bring down castle walls. Crossbows were a weapon that used tension and elasticity to fire a weapon straight ahead from far away. Catapults used similar ideas but changed the design so that larger items could be shot at a higher trajectory.

  We will use English to learn the science behind these war machines in a safe environment. Dr. Sparks understands that not all kids will understand everything that they hear. That’s OK. What your children don’t understand with their ears, they will understand with their eyes and their hands. We create hands-on experiments that spark your children’s curiosity. When they are interested and curious about the experiment that we are doing, they will really open their minds to understand as much as they can.

  We want to create an environment where your kids can come and use their English minds while performing awesome experiments. We feel that most kids don’t need to just go and learn more English. What most kids really need is an English environment that is really interesting, low pressure, and free of writing homework and tests. Why not make English an experience instead of a class? Dr. Sparks Jr. Scientist Club – English, Science, Fun!

Crossbows / Ballista

Make a DIY crossbow to take home.

Explore how ballistae used tension from twisting horse’s hair to fire.

Assemble and fire a ¼ size ballista

Catapults

Make a DIY catapult to take home

Catapult golf – Control the trajectory of your stones to land in the target.

Assemble and fire a large catapult

War

Use blocks to build your city wall and protect your king.

Use ballistae and catapults to destroy your enemy’s walls and capture their king.

Scientific Principles

Using tension to propel an item.

Compare tension and elasticity.

Changing angles to change trajectory.

Changing projectile weight to change trajectory.

© 2014 by Sparkle and Shine. 

  • w-facebook
  • YouTube Clean